Member Feature: Lollys Cubby Hole

Contributor post by Anna of Unexpected Treasure

Please join us in welcoming Becky Babcock of Lollys Cubby Hole, our featured member!l

Tell us about yourself       

I grew up in West Virginia, and loved the green grass and mountains of that beautiful State. Many years later, I moved to Miami, Florida which was greener still and much warmer! Even now I find peace in looking out at the trees and pond from my studio window, regardless of it being in a far more southern state. I have been blessed in many ways, one being that I was allowed the gift of becoming a stay at home Mom, most of my married life. We all know how busy a life that is!  After my two sons went off to college and later married, I found myself on our new farm with lots to do outside, but thinking of more than just mowing fields!  My husband, always the encourager, knew that moving from a big city to a country setting afforded me the Etsy opportunity and voila, Lollys Cubby Hole opened its tiny door!

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I am pleased to tell you a bit about my shop, Lollys Cubby Hole. About 3 years ago I began to look through my years of collecting treasures and discovered oh, so many things I could not keep but should share with others.  So with that, Lollys Cubby Hole came to life. Later my love of sewing resurfaced, inspired by my Grandmother. I was asked by friends and customers to include my burlap & wedding creations and have come to LOVE the custom orders and the special friends I am making along the way. My love of burlap has opened a new world in Lollys Cubby Hole.l1

 

Tell us a bit about your products           

I primarily work and create with burlap.  I stitch & hand stencil Wedding Signs & Accessories as well as items for your home, such as table runners and banners.

What inspires your work?           

Truly I was inspired by my Grandmother & Mother, who both sewed and created things for me all my life. A little spark flew off and landed on me I guess. Today my customers continue to ask for new things and allow me to create just for them. What fun!l2

 

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

My goals for Lollys Cubby Hole would be to add more items, create more home accessories and expand my wedding business. I am considering a cross link with shops that could benefit from my creations and help to grow both of our shops. My dream would be for someone to say to a friend, ” Go to Lollys Cubby Hole, she has the most wonderful things for your wedding.”l3

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think I would be somewhat embarrassed to say I “stand out” with all the lovely shops on Etsy available!   But I do take great pride in my work, LOVE CUSTOM REQUESTS and attempt to make the customer feel they chose the right person to entrust their wedding requests from.

 

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a separate studio, a nice room above my garage that overlooks my pond, pool and green fields!  Could you ask for more?

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

You can find me on: Facebook www.facebook.com/lollyscubby

Pinterest www.pinterest.com/beckybsb

Twitter twitter.com/lollyscubbyhole

My Vintage treasured items are now @  www.etsy.com/shop/BirdsOnATwig

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

I believe that handmade is made with quality & LOVE from the heart. Mass produced items are missing the pride that goes into our labors of love.l4

 

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I think my entire experience has been a good one. I came into this with my eyes wide open and other than the game of being found on the mysterious Web, don’t regret it to date.

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Yes, DO IT! There is nothing to be gained if you don’t step outside your box. Be brave, take a deep breath and go for it.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

HaHaHa!  I work at this all day almost every day!  It IS FUN! I love traveling with my husband, we are quite mobile (and spending time on my farm).

What is your favourite quote?        

“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.” ~Elizabeth Lawrence

Is there anything else you’d like to share?        

Thank you for the opportunity to introduce LollysCubbyHole. I am happy to greet you and walk you through my shop. Maybe we could stop for a cup of coffee and homemade cinnamon bread while you are there.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Lollys Cubby Hole

Leave a Reply

