#CIJRoadTrip – Indonesia: Bali

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Let’s travel to Indonesia – with Katrina from DonBiuBali

1. What city do you live in? What makes it special?

I live in a jungle on a beach on the Island of Bali, Indonesia. It is special because I had to adapt to a different way of living than Vancouver, Canada where I am from.

My Wedding - Indonesia

My Wedding – Indonesia

2. What are several places everyone visiting your country should see?

Ubud is a beautiful and spiritual part of the Island with rolling rice terraces, vegetarian restaurants artists. Amed is beautiful for diving and coral reefs with beautiful fish. Celuk is famous for gemstones, silver and gold. Lembogan is a beautiful Island best seen on a scooter, I like the underground house there and the cliffs with waves four stories tall. I love finding secret beaches and finding small villages off the beat and path.

Lembogan - Indonesia

Waves 4 stories Tall – Lembogan – Indonesia

Women Carrying Fish From The Sea - Bali - Indonesia

Women Carrying Fish From The Sea – Bali – Indonesia

3.  How have the customs, traditions, geography, nature etc. inspired the items you create?

In absolutely every way, my husband is Balinese and a huge part of our life is devoted to meditation and spirituality, Being surrounded by quality, handmade items and living a minimal life reflects in the essence of every piece we make. We don’t have much but what we do have is quality, beauty, paradise, we make our jewelry from absolute scratch, mixing, pressing, making, polishing, every aspect is done carefully, painstakingly and with love just as everything we do is done. I could go on and on, we are our art and our life we created from scratch together is the same.

My Husband Designing His Own Tools For Custom Jewelry Making - Bali - Indonesia

My Husband Designing His Own Tools For Custom Jewelry Making – Bali – Indonesia

Making Sterling Jewelry By Hand - Bali - Indonesia

Making Sterling Jewelry By Hand – Bali – Indonesia

4. What are you doing this fall to drive your business in your community? Are you doing a festival or show? How do you reach out to your community?

I don’t do business in my community but I help businesses in my community. I do a lot of trades, someone owns the banana patch we live in, I help him market his home stay. I am also building three websites for local businesses. As much time as I can spare I like to give to others, there are so many beautiful people here who desperately want the chance to connect with the world and don’t have it because they don’t understand the technology and places like Etsy that can make their art seen and their dreams come true. I wish I could multiply myself to help more amazing artisans here.

Local Artisians - Bali - Indonesia

Local Artisians – Bali – Indonesia

Hand Woven Hand Dyed Sarongs - Bali - Indonesia

Hand Woven Hand Dyed Sarongs – Bali – Indonesia

Wearing My Own Jewelry Creations - Bali - Indonesia

Wearing My Own Jewelry Creations – Bali – Indonesia

Armlet 7 Chakra Solid Sterling Arm Cuff From DonBiuBali

Armlet 7 Chakra Solid Sterling Arm Cuff From DonBiuBali

Moonstone Pendant Personalized Sterling Silver  Necklace  From DonBiuBali

Moonstone Pendant Personalized Sterling Silver Necklace From DonBiuBali

Turquoise And Sterling Silver Cocktail Ring From DonBiuBali

Turquoise And Sterling Silver Cocktail Ring From DonBiuBali

5. What are your social media sites?

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/donbiu
Blog: www.katzwalk.blogspot.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/donbiu
Tumbler: don-biu.tumblr.com/
Instagram: http://instagram.com/donbiu

2 thoughts on “#CIJRoadTrip – Indonesia: Bali

  1. Pingback: Memories Of A Lifetime – #CIJRoadTrip | EtsyChristmasInJuly

Leave a Reply

