#CIJRoadTrip – Israel: Haifa

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Let’s travel to Israel – Haifa with Liat from LiatiB

1. What city do you live in? What makes it special?

I’m from Haifa, the 3rd biggest city in Israel (after Tel Aviv and Jerusalem).

Haifa is an industrial city in the north of Israel. Tel Aviv is the main city for designers, but in the last two years, Haifa started to invest in it’s young citizens and it’s art’s scene.
Haifa is a port city with a mountain that falls into the sea. It is a multi religion city where Jews, Muslims, Christians and Bahai all live together in peace (a very rare thing in our little country).

The view from my studio window, Haifa port and in the distance you can see all the way to the border with Lebanon - Israel

The view from my studio window, Haifa port and in the distance you can see all the way to the border with Lebanon – Israel

2. What are several places everyone visiting your country should see?

The main tourist sites in Israel are all the religious places like Nazareth, Sea of Galilee, Jerusalem. Tel Aviv is the youngest and most populated city. Haifa is the city with the Gold Dome of the Bahai main temple- where it’s prophet is resting in peace.

But Israel has much more to see. We have snow in the winter, we have forests, we have beaches and a desert- all in one. When you can drive six hours from the north to the south of our country. If you want to come – talk to me, and I’d love to give you hidden sites to go and visit.

Haifa - The Golden Dome - Downtown Haifa - Haifa Port - Israel

Haifa – The Golden Dome – Downtown Haifa – Haifa Port – Israel

Haifa's "Bat Galim" Beach - Israel

Haifa’s “Bat Galim” Beach – Israel

3.  How have the customs, traditions, geography, nature etc. inspired the items you create?

Israel is a multi customs country with lots of different people from different countries, lots of different influences: Some Europeans, Some Arab and Some Westerns (and even Easterns).

Because of our constant fear from war and missiles that can start a war any minute, I’m choosing to use optimist happy character in my illustrations, with lot’s of vivid colors. If life is not that colorful and fun – at least my fantasy world is.

In my new collection, music is the main theme. It is also very fun and colorful, and I hope you will love it!

Downtown Haifa Art Fair - Israel

Downtown Haifa Art Fair – Israel

Downtown Haifa Art Fair - Israel

Downtown Haifa Art Fair – Israel

4. What are you doing this fall to drive your business in your community? Are you doing a festival or show? How do you reach out to your community?

I have just launched my new music collection.
I’m preparing my Etsy shop for December holidays.
I’m taking part in a summer art fair and music festival – July to September -in Downtown Haifa.
Nowadays, I’m thinking of taking part in Haifa international film festival and it’s fair – though I’m not sure I will have time for that.
And I just bought my first home! So I will be busy in the fall, in the renovation of it and moving my home and studio to my new place.

Original Beach Pendant From liatib

Original Beach Pendant From liatib

Bossa Nova Dance Illustration Print From liatib

Bossa Nova Dance Illustration Print From liatib

Bossa Nova Set Of 10 Greeting Cards From liatib

Bossa Nova Set Of 10 Greeting Cards From liatib

5. What are your social media sites?

Etsy shop: www.liatib.etsy.com
My site: www.liatib-designs.co.il
My blog: liatib.blogspot.co.il
My FB page: www.facebook.com/pages/LiatiB/104832642896861?ref_type=bookmark

2 thoughts on “#CIJRoadTrip – Israel: Haifa

  1. Pingback: Memories Of A Lifetime – #CIJRoadTrip | EtsyChristmasInJuly

Leave a Reply

