#CIJRoadTrip – Bryne, Norway

Contributor post by Jennifer of CaffeinatedPapercuts

I have to say, I chose Norway for a reason; my husband’s family is from Norway and still have cousins living over there. I loved learning more about the country from Kristin!

Let’s travel to  – Bryne, Norway with Kristin Frøyland Jørgensen from Vamperstein

1. What city do you live in? What makes it special?

I live in the slightly rural town of Bryne, Norway, about 30 minutes south of Stavanger. Bryne is a small town, with about 11,000 inhabitants and you can easily walk from one corner of the city center to the other in about 15 minutes and since it’s situated in an agricultural area, you don’t get surprised if you suddenly see a tractor on the main street. Even though Bryne doesn’t have a lot to offer, at least it’s close to some decent natural scenery, like beaches and woods, and just 30 minutes from Stavanger.

The sea, just outside Hå Old Vicarage

The sea, just outside Hå Old Vicarage

2. What are several places everyone visiting your country should see?

Some of the places people could check out are among other things Ryvarden Lighthouse (near Sveio), Utstein Monastery (at Mosterøy) and Hå Old Vicarage (near Nærbø). These three are situated near the sea and have some hiking opportunities as well. If you visit Stavanger, you’ve got places like The Archeological Museum (and it’s Iron Age Farm), Øvre Holmegate (nicknamed “The Colorful Street”) and The Norwegian Canning Museum that is worth checking out.

Breiavannet, Stavanger

Breiavannet, Stavanger

3. How have the customs, traditions, geography, nature etc. inspired the items you create?

In my photography, I get inspired a lot by nature and landscapes and some of the photo prints I’ve got for sale is shot at local places, like near the old church at Varhaug, which is situated next to the sea.

Pathway at the campus to University of Stavanger, where I do my studies for a BA degree in English Language and Literature

Pathway at the campus to University of Stavanger, where I do my studies for a BA degree in English Language and Literature

Knitting is something that has been done “for ages” in Norway and thanks to my grandmother, I learned to knit (even though I’m far from my grandmother’s level). At the moment I play around with the idea of doing some Selbu mittens and similar, but I haven’t arrived to the place where I’ve actually started doing that quite yet. I think the idea needs to mature a bit, but hopefully I’ll manage to do something sooner or later.

4. What are you doing this fall to drive your business in your community? Are you doing a festival or show? How do you reach out to your community?

I’ll maybe do a craft show or two this fall, but I haven’t quite decided yet. I do on the other hand wear some of the knitted items I make for myself, just to self promote a bit while being at university campus. I occasionally bring along a knitting project to work on during breaks and some of the students and lecturers have started asking questions about it. That is the fun part of knitting, you can take it with you “everywhere” and there is a fair chance someone will be interested.

5. What are your social media sites?

Facebook; www.facebook.com/pages/Vampersteins-Shop/106327117163?ref_type=bookmark
Twitter; twitter.com/gothvamperstein
Pinterest; www.pinterest.com/ecogoth88/

2 thoughts on “#CIJRoadTrip – Bryne, Norway

  1. Pingback: Memories Of A Lifetime – #CIJRoadTrip | EtsyChristmasInJuly

Leave a Reply

