Member Feature: Wickedly Creative

Contributor post by Anna of Unexpected Treasure

Please join us in welcoming Wickedly Creative, our featured member!

 

Tell us about yourself       

I use my weekends and evenings to create with my hands…I like to keep busy all the time and you will never find me bored or “looking for something to do.” I am an artist, designer and crafter so I always have plenty of projects lined up to work on.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened Wickedly Creative as an Etsy shop in August 2010. My mother and I used to participate in arts and crafts shows and I had handmade items in local gift shops as well. Unfortunately, the economy forced many of the shops to close and I no longer had an outlet to sell my items. I missed selling my creations and decided to give Etsy a try.

Tell us a bit about your products           

Currently I feature primitive and whimsical hand stitched embroidered pillows and primitive dolls. I have been moving away from creating from existing patterns and have been focusing on designing and creating from my own designs.

What inspires your work?           

I take inspiration from everyday life, holidays, animals, travel and vintage/retro design (especially the 60s).

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I am expanding my focus to include original OOAK mixed media art dolls and mixed media artwork. I will continue to create hand embroidered pillows and ornaments but will focus on only creating from my own designs moving forward.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I pay attention to details. I truly care about my work and it shows in the finish product. My hope is that my creations visually enhance and help celebrate my customer’s life…her passions, special moments and festive holidays. And most important give her reasons to smile!

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a small studio that I use for graphic design, art and sewing. It houses all of my supplies and inventory, as well as, my computer and sewing machine. I actually embroider sitting on the couch and have a tendency to use my studio for staging projects, storage and sewing more than creating.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

WickedlyCreative

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs. buying mass-produced products from box stores?

 I love the uniqueness of handmade. I love knowing that I supported an artist/crafter in doing what they love. I know and appreciate the time, energy and effort that goes into creating a handmade item. I also like the compliments that come from having a unique piece you can’t find in a box store. I hope people can appreciate those qualities in the items I create.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I should have started creating my own designs sooner.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

I would advise all Etsy sellers to join at least 1 team. It is a great forum to ask questions, learn from other artisans/crafters and participate in team promotions.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I use my weekends and evenings to create with my hands…I like to keep busy all the time and you will never find me bored or “looking for something to do.” I am an artist, designer and crafter so I always have plenty of projects lined up to work on.

What is your favourite quote?        

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

4 thoughts on “Member Feature: Wickedly Creative

Leave a Reply

