Christmas in July Shopping Guide – For the Home

Good morning everyone – Jen from Caffeinated Papercuts here with another fun shopping guide for you! Today we’ve got a great list of home accessories, perfect for the person who is always redecorating with the seasons, who carefully chooses each piece to add to the home, or just for yourself! I asked our team members to share their favorite home decor pieces and the story behind them; because really, what’s better than a piece with a story?

treasuresrtimeless

Sherry from treasuresRtimeless

I have a real passion for vintage, and I love to sew! So with these thoughts in mind, I found the opportunity to re-purpose several vintage items by designing this wonderful handmade throw pillow! It is designed from a wonderful vintage linen tea towel, beautiful vintage cream lace, and finished off with of course, vintage buttons! It would be perfect for a young lady’s bedroom or sitting on a vintage porch swing! 

Lindsey from AddyluCandles

Lindsey from AddyluCandles

My candles are handmade and hand-poured nightly in my kitchen once my baby girl Addylu goes to bed. The candles are 100% soy, and smell wonderful!! I wanted to create candles that are beautiful to look at and smell, and that are safer to burn around my baby than store-bought candles. At affordable prices, my candles are a great gift choice for anyone on your list!

Angsana from AngsanaSeedsPhoto

Angsana from AngsanaSeedsPhoto

This photo was taken on a cold gloomy morning in Prague. I had planned to capture sunrise at the the famous Charles Bridge, unfortunately it started drizzling, the sky was grey and miserable. Just when I was packing my gears, this lady with a bright yellow umbrella walked past. Snapped! the bright and “sunny” umbrella really make our day!

Laura from ChickenJungle

Laura from ChickenJungle

My dad showed me how to do macrame plant hangers back in the 1970’s during the big macrame craze. He had learned to tie many knots while he was in the Navy in the South Pacific in World War II. Then when he got into the big macrame craze during the 1970’s, he tied smaller versions of many of the same knots he had tied in the ship. Recently I re-read my father’s macrame books from the 1970’s, and now I have got started again on the macrame. I am very glad to continue something my father started so long ago.

For me macrame is very relaxing, especially making these hangers for the home. There is something very satisfying about turning a bunch of long loose ends into something useful! My hangers come with a clear round glass container. They would be great for holding air plants, or as candle holders. The hanger can also be used as a plant hanger for a 5 or 6 inch round pot. 

This is one we have on our walls! A wonderful, sunny reminder to take each day as it comes, and that we are the ones who choose what we feel each day, so it might as well be good stuff!

This image has been taken on Isle of Harris, Outer Hebrides. The Hebrides are perfect if you love the tropical sandy beaches, the azure coloured sea, but are not that keen on the tropical heat.

Earlier that day I have worked out that this would be the perfect view for the sunset – sun setting behind the mountains. Only this was the Hebrides. When I got to my spot the wind was blowing and the odd raindrop or two has hit me in the face. The evening was young and I didn’t have anything else planned, so I decided to sat down and watch the clouds what shapes they create. Miracle hasn’t even been on my mind.

Suddenly there was this lump cloud and I don’t even know why I just grabbed the camera, put it on the tripod, quickly focused on the grass clump in the front and took the shot. The wind was blowing strong and the clouds were moving fast. In the next shot the cloud is just a shapeless lump.

I’m so glad I have decided just to sit down and looked at the clouds.

Carola from CarolaBartz

Carola from CarolaBartz

The inspiration for this mixed media painting came from my love for poppies. In my native country Germany in the summer the meadows are full with mostly red poppies – it’s a stunning scene! After I had read about an interesting technique how to glue crumpled book or newspaper pages to a mixed media painting, I knew that I would try this technique and combine it with my love for poppies.

The painting evolved over a few days – the hardest part was attaching the crumpled paper at the bottom of the canvas. The word “bloom” was a natural consequence.

I can see this painting hanging in a living room over an old desk, in a teenage girl’s room or even in a nursery. How about a kitchen? It would light up any room and just give you some happy and sunny feelings. You can almost hear the humming of the bees!

Elizabeth from ElizabethLovesGlass

Elizabeth from ElizabethLovesGlass

I love giving a new life to glass items that might otherwise have been discarded. In all my mosaics I work with chunks of recycled glass (chipped serving dishes, old stemware, nuggets and scraps of glass from any source I can access). I kiln-form many of the individual chunks to flatten, smooth and/or provide texture, and I use a crystal clear two-component epoxy to adhere the chunks to the base glass, which is often salvaged as well. Upcycled and repurposed, the stained glass effect of these mosaics will add sparkle to your home.

I found this vintage picnic basket, and freshened it up by painting the top of the basket turquoise. I love to use baskets for storage, and the unique sliding top on this one makes it a winner in my book!  In your home, it is both decorative and adds storage. Or, you can always use it to go on a picnic! 

While visiting Europe, I was amazed at their tea towels. They aren’t the cotton towels we use here, they are, in general, linen. Upon return, I was inspired to create my own. They don’t shed lint as other towels do. They don’t scratch the surfaces as other towels do. They have almost a patina when they come out of the laundry. Avoid fabric softener, and they are pretty absorbent. Only problem was finding linen towels. So, I made my own from quality linen from a local fabric shoppe.

Denise from QuiltsHerbsPaper4U

Denise from QuiltsHerbsPaper4U

 I have been quilting and working with herbs since my late teens. I make full size quilts; these items are samples of quilting aromatherapy into home decor sachet potpourri. I like knowing that I can do something to brighten or soothe someone’s day.

Kristin from Vamperstein

Kristin from Vamperstein

I’ve got various photography prints up for sale, mainly with landscape/nature in one way or another. For me, spending time in nature is kind of relaxing (at least hiking calm me down a bit) and you don’t always know when the next good shot comes up. 

Thanks to everyone who shared their stories. Be sure to check out their stores if something catches your eye, and search Etsy using ‘cij’ or ‘christmasinjuly’ for other sale items!

4 thoughts on “Christmas in July Shopping Guide – For the Home

Leave a Reply

