Christmas in July – Craft Supplies

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Christmas in July is an Etsy community event that is a blast to participate in! The official dates this year are July 10th – July 20th.

The Christmas In July team has so many shops that sell a myriad of items, including craft supplies.

I wanted to find out more about these shops and why they sell what they do.

NatashaJ of byTheCrochetBug let me know:

I made these motifs inspired by Irish crochet which is a very old and somewhat lost art. My love for gardening led to to make these delicate floral motifs. These motifs can be used to decorate cushions, dresses, hats, headbands etc. or would make cute brooch or hair clips.

One need not know crochet to use these motifs they can simply be sewn on or glued.

il_170x135.625495819_1uy6

Amy Spock of BeadsandThreadsbyAmy says:

I finally broke down and purchased a lovely sewing room from a dear lady who, unfortunately, can no longer sew. Since I am a quilter and not really a seamstress, I am hoping that these patterns go to a home with someone who can masterfully create lovely family heirlooms for their children, grand children, and even to sell on Etsy. I thought this Vintage (1986) Simplicity bear pattern was adorable and timeless.

il_170x135.625506585_lxqd

Megha Silvano of byTheArtBug states:

I have this card making kit in my shop. Remember the old times when handmade cards were not so rare! A handmade card always has a special personal touch and sentiment. And yes I am one of those people who still give handmade cards and loves to collect them.

With this easy and quick kit you can make three different cards with more then 30 different pre-cut ready to stick pieces to choose from, just let your imagination run wild.

il_170x135.625342166_c7sw

Gloria of LittleFlowerbyGloria discusses:

I think that other jewelry makers can use them to make bracelets, necklaces. I like the idea to share my crochet love with others who cannot crochet. I have to keep my hands always busy so I hope that they can work also for other crafters.

il_170x135.625031216_33ds

allisoneastmanbeads of allisoneastmanbeads says:

I actually make all of my findings that are available in my shop.

il_170x135.623023715_ky1z

Sue and Misty of shabbyshopgirls lets me know:

We bought these kits for those who LOVE to craft. Some of the most beautiful Christmas items we’ve seen, whether it be at craft shows, antique malls or at someone’s house, have been made from these kits where there are all sorts of parts and pieces, sequins, felt, etc. and embellished with personal touches! Absolutely beautiful works of art all in themselves!!

il_170x135.619568069_al8b

Kristen Sargent of KestrelCollection says:

This may sound silly but I love folding paper. There is something soothing in making the edges crisp and the points line up. The magic of taking a flat 2 dimensional object and releasing the animal it has inside.

This Japanese Origami Paper Kit is a great way to get started. Instructions are included for making each of the 20 things pictured. The writing on the package is also a very nice real world example for practice reading if you’re studying the language.

il_170x135.625362208_brul

These CIJ shops have shown us some wonderful craft supplies. Check out their shops for their sales!

3 thoughts on “Christmas in July – Craft Supplies

Leave a Reply

