June – Wedding Traditions

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Weddings have evolved over the years,just as the culture has. This year it may be that shabby chic decor is in,but one thing remains the same-Traditions and what remembrances we have of them.

Elizabeth Wellburn of ElizabethLovesGlass says:

The old rhyme is one of my favorites…
“Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue…. and a tuppence in her shoe!”

il_170x135.597058798_adjl

Sarah Johnson of  BellaBoutique23  lets me know:

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary recently. I still look back on our wedding and picture the day as the perfect wedding. My favorite planning of the wedding was picking out the music since music is such a huge part of my life it was so much fun to find unique beautiful music for our special day. I still remember the emotional joy of the music as I walked down the aisle. Although the music was a huge part I think the most precious part of our wedding was at the beginning Aaron and I had both our parents come up as he and I knelt at the alter and the pastor and our parents prayed over us. Having God in the middle of our marriage was what he and I believed would make for a lasting marriage. Headed toward the 11 years and praying many more years to come!

il_170x135.593931779_erkm

Megha Silvano of  byTheArtBug says:

One of the Wedding traditions that I love is “Throwing the Bouquet”, where the bride throws the bouquet over her shoulder to a group of single female guests, the one who catches is believed to be the next in line to get married. It is interesting to sometimes see them fight over it.

Well at my wedding I didn’t throw my own bouquet but, I threw a “toss bouquet” that was meant for throwing only.

I researched about it a bit and found an interesting origin of this tradition:
In Medieval times, brides typically were not expected to wear their wedding dress again, so the single women used to tear off the brides dress and collect as good fortune or lucky charm. But as time passed and dresses became more expensive, brides started throwing other inexpensive things like bouquet to keep the tradition going.

il_170x135.609106349_awh5

Ingrida of feltinga taught me:

In old times in Lithuania a young lady in order to show that she is great and diligent hostess and will be a perfect wife, had to load full dowry chest with her handmade beauties. The most popular and pure Lithuanian fibers were linen (flax) and wool. So young girls had to spin, weave, crochet, knit, felt linen and wool items and place them into her chest, which was being carried to her and her husband’s house. The amber was most popular and pure Lithuanian gem. Amber jewelry was pride of Lithuanian women and was forwarded from generation to generation. It had a special place in the dowry chest. I think, that the items from my both shops – vintage and handmade – would look nicely in the dowry chest of modern girl too…

il_170x135.603916763_q6do

Sheila and Shannon of BeadyEyeBird explains:

I would want a non-traditional, exotic wedding – preferably in an exotic locale like Africa! If I could have that, I would want to wear these wonderful beads. Here they are, plus their story.This is a special African wedding necklace called “Don Don Sole”, and the tradition is to present it to Mali brides for their wedding day. Like many African Trade Beads, these multicolored, bulb shaped, glass beads were originally made in Czechoslovakia and later traded to Africa.

il_170x135.579219580_pc2f

Kelly of ColourscapeStudios states:

Our personalised heart print is the only one of it’s kind on Etsy and we get requests often for it to be blown up and used as a guestbook alternative. I love that people can get it signed by all their loved ones and then framed and up on their wall!

il_170x135.438195564_sfb8

Patricia of RitzyandGlitzy tells me:

One of my customers is getting married in August and requested I make her a pearl necklace with a swallow on it. It came out beautiful! I thought it had a special meaning only to her, but when I looked it up I found out that the swallow symbolizes “hope for a new beginning.” I thought that was such a lovely meaning especially for a bride on her wedding day. So, I decided to add this item to my shop.

il_170x135.613397163_ptw1

Sophie and Paul Habberjam of TheWitchChandlery discusses:

We are pagan and our wedding ceremonies are called ‘Handfastings’ where the couples hands are symbolically tied together with decorative cords or ribbons. These are then kept safely by the couple to symbolise their union and are only cut if the partnership breaks down. The colour of the cords or ribbons are symbolic too and can be plaited or twisted together and decorated with charms, flowers or other symbols that have meaning to the couple.

il_170x135.615078430_fzvg

Jean Harbot of LittleMeBling says:

I love watching the little flower girls and ring bearers during the ceremony and while they party it up afterwards!

il_170x135.603668982_q9pk

Anna White of 2DayIChoose shares:

I paint custom portraits, and get many requests to paint these as wedding and anniversary gifts. Here’s an example of a portrait with a custom background. I’m working on one right now where the background is the lyrics of their wedding song and the portrait is a photo of the couple from their wedding.

2DayIChoose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you learned about a new tradition or at least had fun reading these CIJ members stories. Weddings are a wonderful experience, especially the traditions.

One thought on “June – Wedding Traditions

Leave a Reply

