Treasury Challenge Winner April -Tangerine Toes

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised  of 16 items from any shop.  Most of the time they are done by theme,color or anything you can imagine.

The Christmas in July team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The April winner is Kazaa of Tangerine Toes.

Kazaa has a love of vintage, especially home wares.

I wondered how Kazaa got started selling on Etsy?

A friend suggested Etsy to me when searching for bits and pieces for my wedding. I had never heard of it before. A few looks and I was hooked. But it was over a year before I was to open TangerineToes.

il_570xN.612363154_er3t

When did your love of vintage start?

For as long as I can remember I have made things and sold them to earn extra pocket money. My earliest memory is making potpourri, pressed flower bookmarks and hand-painting mini terracotta pots. My kindly neighbours were the small customer base for this enterprising young primary-schooler.

il_570xN.585027926_kfv8

What is your favorite type of vintage? In terms of era or item type?

In my teens I began collecting items such as copper milk cans. A bit later it turned to glassware and china. Every type of gorgeous china. Then in my late 20’s, as preparing for my wedding I began to realize my love affair with vintage laces and linens. I learned to crochet and found that my love of handwork matched that of my mother’s. Now we work together – in turn making and hunting. She has the selective eye for all those beautiful pieces and keeps me well stocked with a never ending supply to photograph and list. And I am now beginning to appreciate how clever she is with her hands! As china is difficult to ship we decided to open TangerineToes with a mix of vintage linens, children’s items and items handmade by ourselves.

il_570xN.612441108_tlak

 

What and who is your target market?

Our aim is to find middle aged mothers, wanting to share items of their childhood with their own children.

Kazaa has a great mix of all thing vintage. Check out her shop and bask in the nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

