Member Feature: My Pretty Babi

Contributor post by Natalie

Please join us in welcoming My Pretty Babi, our featured member!

________________________

Tell us about yourself       

I am a costumiere which means I make costumes for the entertainment industry. I’d started crocheting when I was a kid with my grandma whom taught me the basics. I travel a lot and lived in many countries and I bring a bit of costume history and my love for lace and floral into my designs, along with travel influences that I pick up in my wanderings.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my shop in 2011 when I was living in China. One of my cute Chinese friends told me about Etsy and how I should make something to sell there. I had just quit my job and had gone through a rough time and I was smiling again after adopting my kitty Blossom and so I thought “why not?”. I’d named my shop after my kitty as she has saved my sanity as I’d saved her!

Tell us a bit about your products           

My products are inspired by lace, costume history and floral fabrics. They are feminine and full of beautiful details.

What inspires your work?           

Japanese crochet and my costume books.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I am trying to find what works and what my customer would like to see in my shop trough survey to implement my products and eventually my sales. I would like my shop to be a profit business. I don’t want to quit my costume job but I want my shop to take off.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I am a perfectionist so my products have a high quality to them. I mainly work with lace crochet which makes my products very delicate.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My work space is in our house’s spare room. We don’t have much space but the spare room is where I made it my own and hang inspiring objects. I have my sewing machines and tools and I also have my shelves with fabrics and laces and ribbon in front of me that I look and get my ideas going. I just look at a fabric and my “idea box” open up!

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

My main Website will be the best to look into my shop and costume work history. People can also find out about me a bit more there:
http://www.francisnellibailonisantos.com

I am also on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/MyPrettyBabi.By.Tuca.Santos

And Twitter:
https://twitter.com/myprettybabi

And Pinterest:
http://pinterest.com/myprettybabi/

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

Because handmade is something made out of love and passion!

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

How important is to be in a team and how teams members help each other. I also learned a lot about SEO (Search Engine Optimization) and how important tags and descriptions are. And above all: how important the photos are!

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Try it! You never know how it will turn up but if you don’t try, you might loose a good experience in life.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I love going to music concerts and read. If I am sitting on a beach reading, even better! I hang out with my furry kids and husband as much as I can when I am not busy at work, been it Etsy work or theater work.

What is your favourite quote?        

Carpe Diem. I make sure to wish that to all my newsletters’ subscribers!

Life is short, enjoy your day!

Is there anything else you’d like to share?        

Never do to anyone what you don’t wish them to do to you because karma is a b*

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

