For Dad

Contributor post by Amy of BeadsAndThreadsbyAmy

My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person, he believed in me.  -Jim Valvano

I am not ashamed to say that no man I ever met was my father’s equal, and I never loved any other man as much.  -Hedy Lamarr

The greatest gift I ever had came from God; I call him Dad! — Author Unknown

Join our Christmas in July Team in celebrating dad this Father’s Day (June 15, 2014)!  Below, our artists share their favorite stories of their own fathers and items from their shop that would be perfect gifts.  What story will you share?

Veronica and Andy Fritsch from AVAArtsSupplies says

My dad taught me a lot. He taught me to catch a ball, fix a flat, build a birdhouse, and make mac and cheese (out of the box, but hey he tried!). I think the biggest and most important thing he taught me was that just because I’m girl doesn’t mean that it should limit me! I remember a couple of months ago a home improvement store employee (male) asked what I was doing. After looking puzzled for a minute, I told him I was looking for the right piece of wood for my project. He preceded to ask what I was building. I told him a bed frame. He laughed! He told me good luck and he hoped my husband was around to help. I told the manager who apologized, but I was angry. I called my Dad and he said with skills I’ve got I probably build any type of furniture around the guy while baking awesome cookies. He was super impressed when I sent the pictures later and told me how proud he was and how much he loved me. I’ll always be a daddy’s girl, and my dad made sure I was a well-prepared daddy’s girl!

My dad is a pretty down-to-earth guy who taught me everything I know about video games, comic books, and sci-fi novels. He’s one of those guys who doesn’t necessarily want ‘stuff’ when holidays roll around, he wants gift cards so he can fill up his Kindle! Seeing as it’s hard to wrap a gift card, I came up with these little pocket shirt cards – it’s a pretty, ah, manly card and gift card holder all in one! Now he can stock up on books and I can borrow them…hehehe…

My Dad was the kind of guy who woke in the morning either singing, humming or whistling. He was always happy, always had a smile on his face and always appreciated everything.

One day I came home from school and had to make a car as a homework project. My dad took me to his workshop in the basement. Using old cans, pieces of wood, screws and anything we could find, we worked for hours. Nailing, painting and sanding my new mini car I had a blast. I was only around 5 at the time, needless to say I had the best project in the class! Aldo my Dad passed away when I was younger I am glad that I can cherish this memory forever.

My dad is such an amazing man. He is gentle spirited, kind, loving, and a devoted father. One of my most special memories is him reading to me and my two brothers. We would cuddle up before bedtime and my dad would read us stories by Walt Morey, like Gentle Ben. He loved to read sweet stories about animals. My dad would pray with us as well before tucking us in bed. I am thankful for sweet childhood memories. Love my Dad!

My dad is one of those dad’s that didn’t have to be. I was five when I was adopted and lead a very troubled childhood. I am grateful for his support even when it was a challenge. Though I may not always love all of the choices he made along the way, especially after my mother passed away he is still my dad. If you were to ask me what the very definition of a father was it would be this…. A man who loves his child with all his heart, stands by and gives guidance but not judgement and supports you to the day he is no longer here on earth, blood has nothing to do with it. Sorry for the sappy story but I will proudly tell it til the day I die!

My dad was a quiet, easy going man, who worked hard, and was constantly remodeling our home-before it was trendy on the home and garden network! Being an only child I was definitely Daddy’s girl until the day he died.

My fondest memory was when his first grandchild was born. Being “Boston Irish” he loved St Patrick’s Day, but alas I couldn’t hold out and he received his first grandchild two days before St Paddy’s day. Mom gave him the task of ordering flowers to be sent to the hospital. To my surprise the nurses came giggling into my room and asked me if I had given birth to a martian – for low and behold he had sent me me a green bouquet, not the tradition blue, to celebrate his grandson’s birth.

Leave a Reply

