Member Feature: Krysthle Designs

Contributor post by Natalie

Please join us in welcoming Krysthle Designs, our featured member!

________________________

Tell us about yourself       

I fun and active artisan in my community, I love to create and meet fellow artisans to share and learn.

I have two cats which I adore. One has breast cancer and is undergoing chemo. Her surgery was a success. Some people find me crazy for investing so much in my furry friends, but what can I say? I love them with all my heart!

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

My business took off several years ago after losing my job during the bad economy. I saw a great opportunity to turn my love of crafts into a business opportunity. I researched different venues and found that Etsy had the most potential for me.

Tell us a bit about your products           

I make several different styles of jewelry. Some examples of what you will find in my shop are funky spike bracelets, modern and feminine gemstone and crystal jewelry as well as lots of bridal and bridesmaids pieces.

What inspires your work?           

I find inspiration from everywhere, but mostly when I am shopping for supplies. I will see something that catches my eye, and have to buy it! Then I comes up with a thousand different ways to use it.
I also draw lots of inspiration from Pinterest and color palettes.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I would like to see my business flourish and gain exposure. So far, it`s been a slow and steady climb. I’d love for my business to increase by 150%! Big goals, I know! But I also have big ideas!

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I like to think that I use quality products. I really like to use silver plated and gold plated findings, because they have a great quality-price ratio. I also have sensitive ears and skin, and know that sometimes, quality makes a huge difference!

A second way in which my jewelry is different from others is that I like to use unique findings and beads. I try to make interesting combos that are fresh and new.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have an entire room dedicated to working my crafts. I like to call it the art room. But honestly, its overflowing with supplies. I would say that at this point, my kitchen, dining room, hallways and living room are all part of my gigantic `work space`. LOL

You can find me creating while cooking up supper, while watching TV or while listening to a TV show on my computer. I’m creating all the time and everywhere.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

If people are interested in finding out more about my business, i do have several social media outlets where I share lots of interesting things!

www.krysthle.com
www.facebook.com/krysthledesigns
www.pinterest.com/krysthledesigns
www.twitter.com/krysthledesigns

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

I have a philosophy that buying handmade = putting money in real people pockets and not multinational corporate bank accounts. The wealth gets redistributed so much better, and you are supporting real people`s dreams and livelihoods.

I also believe that buying is like voting. If you choose to support artisans, you are paying them decent wages. I am horrified at work practices in third world countries. But nothing will change if we support the business`s that exploit children, the environment and continue to underpay workers in sweatshops.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I learned that it takes a lot of promoting to sell. You can’t just expect to sell if you are not actively trying to reach your target audience.

I would say that having a handmade business is 20% creating and 80% promoting and listing!

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

My advice is to stop thinking about it and give it a go! What could you lose?

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I love to watch TV and netflix. Can I be addicted to all the awesome TV shows? Is that a thing?

What is your favourite quote?        

I`m not big on quotes…. I never use them.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

