May Holidays – Memorial Day – May 26th

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Memorial Day, an American holiday observed on the last Monday of May, honors men and women who died while serving in the U.S. military. Originally known as Decoration Day, it originated in the years following the Civil War and became an official federal holiday in 1971. Many Americans observe Memorial Day by visiting cemeteries or memorials, holding family gatherings and participating in parades. Unofficially, at least, it marks the beginning of summer.

Most celebrate this day with honoring veterans, parades and cookouts!!

Angel Soyars of LilLoveBugsCreations told me:

Memorial Day is huge day in my family! My mother and father emigrated to the US in 1960’s from the Philippines. It wasn’t easy, but my father went to medical school and became a pediatrician here in the US. They had 8 children (never a dull moment!) me being the youngest. All 4 of my brothers have served our country as well as my husband. I come from a family of heroes. Memorial Day is not only a day that I remember those who serve or have served, but to also a reminder that I had the stroke of luck to be born in a country where I was born free. 

Memorial Day means summer, fun, parades, pride but most of all freedom.

Here is an item that immediately reminds me of this holiday:

il_170x135.588171973_rygm

Amanda Marie of JoiedeVivreCrafts said:

My Dad’s Dad served in the army during WWII. He was stationed in England, and he helped load bombs onto planes. He lost his best friend when a bomb went off unexpectedly while loading it. He never talked about the war. In fact, he threw out everything to do with it including his dog tags. However, I couldn’t be prouder of him. Both my Dad and I have a strong interest in WWII now. It’s one of my favorite time periods or read and learn about. 

Here is a wreath that reminds me so much of what our country is. 

il_170x135.542712563_mppz

Jeanne of CedarwoodCreations explained:

My Dad served in the Korean War. He was a Medic in the Navy on a ship. He told some cool stories but the one that sticks out in my head is that there were some alcoholic men on the ship and because they were at sea for such a long stretch of time (without alcohol) the severe ‘ones’ would strain regular alcohol through bread and drink it. Gross I know, but it stuck with me.

il_170x135.543630825_5i2j

This holiday is an amazing time to get together with loved ones and celebrate our Veterans. Through the good and the bad they have faithfully served our country and made it what it is today!!

Leave a Reply

