Member Feature: The Felt Collector

Contributor post by Natalie

Please join us in welcoming The Felt Collector, our featured member!

________________________

Tell us about yourself       

I’m a stay at home mom and a caregiver for an elderly lady. I have been crafty for many years. I love creating. My crafts, work and family keep me fairly busy and out of trouble. Ever since I was a little girl I knew I wanted my own store. I had no idea then that I would be working at home and selling on the internet. This works well for me. I get to be home with my family and do what I love. I’m still growing and learning and the future ahead looks promising.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened the felt collector shop one year ago. I started hoarding printed felt sheets years ago and realized how hard felt is to find in some areas. That helped me decide to share my felt hunting ability and felt dyeing talents with others.

Tell us a bit about your products           

Wool felt or craft felt is great to work with. Soft felt is easy to sew and doesn’t fray. Felt can also be used to embellish craft projects.

Felt comes in so many colors and can make great shapes for crafting ornaments or other crafts.

I also create paper and felt gift tags.

What inspires your work?           

I actually enjoy hunting for different felt patterns and like when I find new ones. The animal prints are by far my favorite. I have hand dyed some really pretty colors.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

My goal for this year is to focus more on my hand dyed prints. I would like to have lots of dyed animal prints. I am also creating more paper and felt gift tags to have more variety.
My dream would be to have my own work space and craft room. How I would love to find things faster! I am currently working on organization I just lack some room I really need and want.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I would say my felt and paper gift tags are unique.

My hand dyed felt sheets are rare.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Currently my craft and supplies take up a good portion of my bedroom. I’m working on having a separate craft room and can’t wait! I’m rearranging to be more organized and productive.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

I just started a Facebook page for my shop: www.facebook.com/thefeltcollector

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

Supporting handmade, work at home moms or people who work from home is important in my eyes.
I have severe back problems and cannot stand or sit for long periods of time. I am very limited in what work I can do. Working from home is my income. I know I truly appreciate every sale and person behind it.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I have learned that I don’t have to do everything today. Priorities are great and should be done at a reasonable time. The small unimportant stuff can wait until tomorrow.

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

If your thinking of starting Etsy join the fun! If you enjoy what you do, share your talent with others.
Be active and have a good team.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

When I am not working, cleaning or otherwise busy, it’s usually evening. Watching a great show or two before bed helps me unwind.
Sometimes I still have to remind myself to take time for myself. I enjoy taking a bath with a good book or relaxing and playing a few games on my tablet.

What is your favourite quote?        

I actually made a saying myself that I am quite proud of.
​We are all artists of our own life,​ creating ourselves with every action we take no matter how small. Be wise in your choices today for they will craft the future you.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?        

I’m so lucky to have found crafty hobbies. I’m not sure what I would do during the many hours of the day if I didn’t have crafting in my life. With that said, I wish there was more hours during the day to be creative.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: The Felt Collector

  1. Pingback: Member Feature: The Felt Collector | animalprintslol

Leave a Reply

