May Holidays – National Teacher Day – May 6th

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

The origins of National Teacher Day are murky. Around 1944 Arkansas teacher Mattye Whyte Woodridge began corresponding with political and education leaders about the need for a national day to honor teachers. Woodridge wrote to Eleanor Roosevelt, who in 1953 persuaded the 81st Congress to proclaim a National Teacher Day.

NEA, along with its Kansas and Indiana state affiliates and the Dodge City (Kan.) Local, lobbied Congress to create a national day to celebrate teachers. Congress declared March 7, 1980 as National Teacher Day for that year only.

NEA and its affiliates continued to observe National Teacher Day in March until 1985, when the NEA Representative Assembly voted to change the event to Tuesday of the first full week of May.

Most celebrate this holiday by holding a celebration,an awards ceremony or having sales for teachers. There is so much we can all do to show the teachers of the world we appreciate them and their hard work and dedication to  teaching our young ones.

Candy Rauber of WickedlyCreative let me know:

As a child I moved frequently and therefore went to many different schools in several different states. I don’t remember the names of a lot of my teachers but I do remember what I loved about my favorite teachers. They engaged you in class, encouraged free speech and really listened to what you had to say. They pushed you to think about things in a different way, expected a lot of you and in response you stepped up to that challenge. To all of my wonderful teachers I would give them an A+!

il_170x135.353373578_7x59

Cindy Ely of cecrafts said:

I was always a very shy little girl. I had one teacher that showed me it was ok to be just me. A red haired overweight child. She gave me all the confidence I needed to go on to succeed.
I would give her this.

il_170x135.594809771_bsnb

Jeanne of CedarwoodCreations told me that:

In 8th grade my History Teacher acted like no other teacher I had ever seen. He would get on his desk sometimes to make a speech like a famous historical figure. He would get ‘in character’ by changing his voice and act like a war hero from the past. You never knew what he would do. He made learning fun for our class and kept us all interested. Here’s to you Mr. W—–.

il_170x135.565438701_bwmd

Amy Spock of  BeadsandThreadsbyAmy stated:

Ms. Cummins was my high school math teacher as a freshman and then again in calculus as a senior. I had the privilege of having some very good teachers, but she holds a special place in my heart. As a sophomore, I had a very troubling summer and decided to drop my honors class in math. While she clearly expressed what a ridiculous idea this was, she also supported me the following year, spending hours helping me get caught back up. As a result of her help and her confidence in me, I was able to get through that class. When she presented me an award at Baccalaureate, we were both tearing up. When she found out I couldn’t afford a calculator for college (they were really expensive back in the day), she said she needed some help around the house. I washed her car and found a new calculator in the back seat. I only hope I am as inspirational to my students as she was to me. You see, she is the reason I became a teacher. Science, though, not math.

Here’s to you, Ms. Cummins! Congratulations on helping me through! I hope I make you proud!

il_170x135.573938433_ljzf

Karen Crisp of APaperParadise says:

I went to high school in England, and for both my O levels and A levels I had the same teacher for maths. He was patient, passionate and talented. Maths soon became my favorite subject. I stayed on at school for an extra few weeks after the end of school to prepare for the entrance exams for the university I wanted to attend, once again, he was there to help me. It was during this time that he revealed to the class of 4 or 5 students that while he was at college he had worked as a grave digger.

Now, 30 some years on, I think of him every time I write the phrase ‘thank you for your interest in my coffins’ in response to a convo about my coffins.

il_170x135.477664892_89xk

Veronica and Andy Fritsch of AVAArtsSupplies said that they:

 loved science. My favorites were biology, chemistry (1 and 2), and physics! I had great teachers for all of them, but my favorite was an older gentleman who volunteered to help us. He worked on the atom bombs when he was younger, after he retired he wanted to still be involved in science so he contacted our high school to volunteer. He was always there to praise us, help explain stuff to us, or to tell us stories. He was super patient with us when we didn’t quite get it. He was strict if we gave him attitude, but you could tell he still cared. He came to the school Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays and was there from my freshman to senior year. His love of science made it come alive to me. 

il_170x135.506550982_6ddq

WalterSilva of WalterSilva discussed:

My freshman year in college I had a wonderful intro to literature instructor. She was so down to earth, in touch with what was going on in the world and super smart . She was so passionate about teaching and that was evident. I learned so much from her and always got excited for the next class. Dr. C gave me the confidence to embrace difficulties and challenges, twenty years later I still remember how influential she was and still is… I would not be who I am if it was not for her! I would gift her this anchor pill box, perfect since she was my anchor during a time I had no confidence or idea of what or whom I was … Good teachers make an impact and that she did!

il_170x135.593824594_t185

Amanda Marie of JoiedeVivreCrafts relates that:

I am a teacher, and I know I wouldn’t be half the teacher I am without my wonderful mentor and professor, Dr. Foster. He inspired me to think outside the box. He challenged me to question how to teach close reading. He showed me that plays are meant to be performed, not read for homework. He helped me see how to teach classic literature and young adult literature. I know I owe most of my career to him. He was still so in touch with what happens in the classroom. This wreath reminds me of him. It’s bright and vibrant, just like his teaching. He always loved things that were a little wacky!
He still teaches at my university, and we keep in touch via Facebook.

il_170x135.588830937_i6ta

I hope wherever you are that you give a little something back to those that have done so much!

Leave a Reply

