For All the Moms Out There

Contributor post by Amy of BeadsAndThreadsbyAmy

With Mother’s Day coming up, I decided to give our team members the chance to share their favorite stories about their Moms.  I was hoping to create a moving blog with lovely gift ideas for Moms.  I was surely not disappointed in the wonderful stories shared by our team.  And to all the moms out there, Happy Mother’s Day.  I hope you have time with the ones you love on this very special day.

1) Sarah Johnson from BellaBoutique23 says

My Mother struggled to have a child of her own and so she and my father chose to adopt. When I was born at the last minute the adoption agency called saying they no longer had a girl for her but a boy, she had her heart set on me and her family doctor at the time fought for her to be able to adopt me. My mom often would tell me this story of how God provided a baby for her. I thank God that I was adopted and he chose my Mom for me. I think of how we are adopted by Jesus and how thankful I am to have had the Lord bless me with such an amazing Mother who loves the Lord and demonstrated His love to me.

My album for Mother’s Day is 10 Ways I love you:
1 You are an example of God’s love
2 You give your whole heart to your children
3 You are caring and selfless
4 You taught me to be gracious
5 You have a strength of character
6 You are supportive
7 You encourage me
8 You are generous
9 I Love your sense of humor
10 You are my best friend
Thanks Mom for all you are and all you do.

2) Carola Bartz from CarolaBartz says

When I was little, my Mom and I sometimes played “tea party”. We both would dress up (she in some fancy clothes, I in some of her clothes and, of course, high heels!), she would make hot chocolate (our “tea”) and we would sit down in our living room at a carefully set table and pretend drinking tea, making “upper class” conversation and smoking fake cigarettes (it was the 60’s after all!). I remember that there were always fresh flowers in a vase on the table. I loved how my Mom played with me, and we had so much fun together.

When I grew much older, I once gave my Mom a blank notebook, asking her to write down her memories of her childhood and as a young woman. Now that she is gone I am so thankful that I have these handwritten memories of her. My gift idea, therefore, is a journal for a mother to remember her childhood so that these memories can be kept for future generations.

3) Kelly from ColourscapeStudios says

My mum had me in the kitchen with her from early on, mixing cake batter and the like! I’ve always loved being in the kitchen and I’m so thankfully she gave me that love so early on!

4) Eleni from LenasCakes says

Things I love about my mom…
– She says “get an umbrella, it will rain” (sun is shining outside,btw)…I don’t get one…it rains! I get one, it keeps sunny all day!
– She asks ” what’s wrong?” when I did nothing to show it…..just understands the sigh behind my words….
– She never-never-never liked my 1st husband….never told me a single bad thing about him….only when the divorce was final she was” ok, he was NOT for you, ok”?
What terrifies me (!) is that as years go by…I’m turning into her! Spooky

5) Veronica and Andy Fritsch from AVAArtsSupplies says

Our son does not believe in sleep, ever! We spent the first 3 years of his life singing “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” 2-3 times before bed to get him to sleep. He’s 8 now and it still brings a smile to all our faces when we hear it!

6) Jeanne from CedarwoodCreations says

When I was 20 years old my girlfriend asked me to fly away for the weekend THAT evening. I had to work the following day so I said no. My mother, hearing this, asked why I wouldn’t go. She suggested that I call my boss and ask for the following day off as a vacation day, which I did and my boss said ‘yes’. Off to FL for the weekend I went and had the time of my life.  I’ll never forget that. My mother taught me my good work ethic and how to balance work and fun. Here’s to you, Mom!

Collection of Gift Ideas for Moms....

Collection of Gift Ideas for Moms….

Leave a Reply

