Easter Traditions and Crafts go hand in hand

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

With Easter coming up this weekend, I thought why not do a piece on the holiday, the traditions of our families and our crafts.

The stories reminded me of my childhood, as I believe they will for you.

Sarah Johnson of BellaBoutique23 says:

I remember dying Easter eggs the night before. The morning of Easter, my mom would hide big baskets full of goodies that we would search for and I remember one of the times that mine was hidden in the laundry closet! She was such an amazing gift giver. We would go to church that morning and after get together with family. It was so nice living so close to my grandparents and all the cousins would get together at my grandparents house and we would have a big Easter egg hunt. Lots of fun memories! 

il_570xN.588396736_i88n

Karen Crisp of AParadisePaper told me about:

I remember spending Easter with my Grandmother (when I was very small, probably about 5 years old). She give them to my sister and I to draw patterns on with a candle. When we were done, they were boiled in water with food coloring and they came out pastel colors with white patterns. Just like the eggs on this treat box well, okay, not quite as pretty as these, but we liked them anyway!

il_570xN.429826923_nta9

Carola Bartz of CarolaBartz explained her memories:

I lived in Germany for 40 years, and on Easter night (Saturday->Sunday, in some regions Sunday->Monday) it is a tradition to have a huge Easter fire. The wood for the fire would have been collected over several weeks and piled up high. On Easter night after dark, people would come together around the pile and the fire would be started. We watched and sang and just felt the magic of this special night. When Easter was early in the year, it was pretty cold!

I don’t have any special Easter items in my store, except for a few Easter cards.

il_170x135.574779429_qbjo

Kathy of KomebackKitsch lets me know:

I remember Sunrise service at church, my Mom being in the choir and my Dad taking on getting 4 little girls dressed in Easter finery and to church by 6am….quite a feat. Breakfast at the church, two services and a Sunday school, then home for the dreaded “Easter picture” – bonnets, corsages – the works. Finally, after the Easter picture, we could change into our play clothes, have lunch, an Easter egg hunt and dig into the candy in the Easter baskets! We always had one “special” egg which contained a $2 bill that my Uncle would provide. 

One later Easter, when I was about 12, on a whim, we all travelled to my Grandparents a couple hours south to spend Easter with them topped off with a fireworks show – of all things – in the evening. That whim turned out to be my last memory of my Grandpa, as he died in an accident before we could see him again, so we were all so glad that whim was acted upon.

il_570xN.445540185_ivwh

I hope you all have an amazingly blessed Easter surrounded by your friends, family and your craft.

3 thoughts on “Easter Traditions and Crafts go hand in hand

  1. Pingback: Sticking With Family TraditionYou By My Side | You By My Side

Leave a Reply

