Member Feature: CedarwoodCreations

Contributor post by Natalie

Please join us in welcoming CedarwoodCreations, our featured member!

________________________

Tell us about yourself       

Ever since childhood I have been crafting things. No special crafting abilities really, I just enjoyed being creative.
When I made my first rock cairn 7 years ago it made me really smile. For the first time I felt I had made something that perhaps others would pay for to have.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

In 2009 I decided to open my Etsy shop; however, I had no idea what I was doing. It was off/on for a couple of years until I told myself to really ‘go for it’. I joined teams, asked questions and started to get the hang of it. I still read ‘how to’ on Etsy all them time. There is always new ways to get your shop name out there and to draw attention to your shop.

Tell us a bit about your products           

Rock Cairns are little pieces of nature and the outdoors. I began adding charms and beads to the cairns to give them a little color and personality. I think they are quite unique and a wonderful inexpensive and small gift for anyone.

What inspires your work?           

Inspiration for me comes from situations, hobbies, likes. For example I like doing yoga and there are many different rock cairns I can make to represent yoga: Meditation, Breathing, Buddha, Chakra, etc. Anyone who may be into yoga may find these appealing.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I want to expand my shop where I can make larger rock cairns that perhaps someone would like to put in there garden or on their porch or deck. Shipping large, heavy rocks is what I am working on. I would like to keep shipping costs at a realistic level.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

The wonderful thing about my product is that it is very unique. At the time I started CedarwoodCreations no one was making my style of cairns. There are plenty of ‘stacked rock’ options, but not cairns that are artfully decorated with inspirational charms and colorful beads.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I have a small studio in my home that is perfect for my needs. Because my charms/beads are so small I don’t need too much room to house them. The room needed in my studio is for shipping boxes and supplies. I actually started my shop at my dining room table and did that for a few years.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

At this time my Etsy shop is my only form of representation. I am considering a blog. I have much to learn about that as I currently know nothing about blogging.

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

When I buy a birthday or Christmas present I take my time and really seek out the perfect gift for the person I’m buying for. I don’t want to settle for something off the shelf. I assume that there are plenty of other people out there who feel the same. Etsy offers an incredible range of unique gifts where anyone could find that special gift for their loved one.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I named my shop out of the love of a name. I wish I had known that you should name your shop in line with your product. I would have put “Rock Cairn” in my title.

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy? 

My advice to anyone starting out is to not think you will start off with a bang and sell products every day. It takes time to get your name out there and to draw people into your shop. There are thousands of shops on Etsy, find a way to make yours unique and bring people in.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I do yoga, run and do some gardening. I enjoy a good movie, too.

What is your favourite quote?        

Whether you think you can or think you can’t you’re right!
– Henry Ford

Is there anything else you’d like to share?        

I like it when I buy from a small business; it feels good to me to give them a chance. You don’t always have to buy from the big stores.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

