Treasury Challenge Winner February – LadySnooks

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The ChristmasInJuly team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

Betty Travell of LadySnooks is a previous winner so I decided to ask her more about the stones and tagua  nuts she uses.

I asked her how she got started with wire wrapping:

I’ve been doing wire wrapping for about 7 or 8 years now. I am mostly self-taught, but started with a class. The very first piece that I wrapped was a round thick, rather ugly piece of ordinary glass. The teacher supplied these for us to practice. I mention this because I have to laugh when I think of a time not that long ago when sterling silver was so cheap, that one could use it to wrap something like this.

Sonora Sunrise Chrysocolla Wire Wrapped Pendant By LadySnooks

Sonora Sunrise Chrysocolla Wire Wrapped Pendant By LadySnooks

I share a love of natural stones with her, so I wondered what were her favorites:

Now I am a little more selective in my choice of stones. I’ve seen a lot of beautiful stones, but my favorite is Larimar. It is only found in the Dominican Republican in the Caribbean. It surpasses anything in its amazing color which is like looking out at the sea and sky on a gorgeous Caribbean day. It was named after the daughter of one of the discoverers of this stone, Larissa, and the Spanish name for the sea, mar. I love it.

Another stone I love to use is Labradorite. When held in the light, it has wonderful flashes of blue and gold going through it. Most Labradorite is a soft, greenish color, but it can come in other colors too. I had one that was a copper color. This stone is found in Labrador and thus its name. There is folklore that explains its sometimes brilliant flashes. An old Native-American myth says that the Northern Lights, which can be seen quite well in Labrador, fell from the sky once and became trapped in the stone. There are more complicated and accurate scientific explanations, of course, but I like the Native-American one.

It astounds me to see the array of the colorful, beautiful stones forming within the earth for eons, such as Amazonite, Turquoise, Amethyst and Citrine.

Larimar with Sterling Silver Wire Wrapped Pendant By LadySnooks

Larimar with Sterling Silver Wire Wrapped Pendant By LadySnooks

I asked her what other natural items did she use in her work and to tell me a bit about them:

I use fossils such as Ammonites to wrap. These little creatures covered much of the earth millions of years before man. They have turned to stone and will be here forever.

I also use slices of the Tagua Nut. These are perfect as frames for my resin pendants. The Tagua Nut comes from palm trees that grow in the rain forests. When the nuts are dried, they can be used to carve pictures in, and some are dyed beautiful colors to use as beads. They are called “vegetable ivory” and even help save the Rainforest because this is something that can be harvested and used without causing any harm to the trees. Nature is just so amazing.

Tagua Nut Under the Sea Butterfly Fish 3D Pendant By LadySnooks

Tagua Nut Under the Sea Butterfly Fish 3D Pendant By LadySnooks

Betty is a true lover of nature and it shows in all her creations. One would be lucky to wear one of her pieces!

One thought on “Treasury Challenge Winner February – LadySnooks

Leave a Reply

