Member Feature: Scriblz Design Studio

Contributor post by Natalie

Please join us in welcoming Scriblz Design Studio, our featured member!

________________________

Tell us about yourself       

I am a graphic designer, artist, Chef and a Mom. I have been designing, creating and “making” since I was little. I live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. I absolutely love what I do and wake up each day driven to make and create.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my business in the Fall of 2013, although my business was open off-line for many years. I only just found about Etsy in 2013.

Tell us a bit about your products           

My products are holiday and home decor items. I am drawn to wood, fabrics, and paper. My products seem to fall into the Primitive, French Country, Rustic categories.

Beach Letter Blocks By ScriblzDesignStudio

Beach Letter Blocks By ScriblzDesignStudio

What inspires your work?           

It can be anything of beauty or uniqueness. Color is a great inspiration for me. I love using color to achieve different moods and settings in my works.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

My goals are pretty simple at this point: I am still fairly new on Etsy. For the past few months I have been learning all I can about SEO, using social media for marketing as I knew nothing about these subjects. I will continue learning and putting into practice everything I can learn.

My dream for my business is to someday wake up to hundreds of orders on my Etsy site : )

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think my design skills have enabled me to showcase my business in a way that is appealing. Also, I offer a superior and unique product that seems to appeal to the masses. It gives me great pleasure to envision one of my pieces sitting in someone’s home, bringing joy and appreciation to them.

Primitive Wood Easter Bunny Blocks By ScriblzDesignStudio

Primitive Wood Easter Bunny Blocks By ScriblzDesignStudio

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Yes, I have a separate studio carved out in a very workable area of my house. It helps tremendously being able to leave it at the end of the day and step back into it the next day; refreshed and picking up where I left off. All of my tools, etc are there.

Where can people find out more about you and your business?

https://www.facebook.com/ScriblzDesignStudio
http://www.pinterest.com/bonniebee425/
https://twitter.com/scriblzdesign

Why do you believe people should buy handmade, such as your products, vs buying mass-produced products from box stores?

Most importantly, buying handmade supports the artistry, skills and talents of our industry.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

That I must listen to my “market”; they will tell me what they like, don’t like, are looking for, etc. I cannot just design for myself; what I like.

Any advise for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Etsy has been a great experience and I have a great feeling of camaraderie with other artists with whom I have connected. I highly recommend it – it has been excellent for growing my business.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?        

I live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest where boating, skiing, hiking, biking, swimming are all within an hour of each other; year round. Those are some of my hobbies. Gardening, reading, listening to music are some more.

What is your favourite quote?

“Do what you love and, you will never work a day in your life”.
Which is the truth I live by every day. I endeavor to do what I love every day – create and make – and, as such, every day is a gift to me.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Only that if you are an artist, Etsy is the place to be. I cannot say enough about the help, advice and general business tips available here on Etsy, most especially if you are new at it.

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

