Treasury Challenge Winner December – EponasCrystals

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The ChristmasInJuly team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The winner for December is Nancy Duncan of EponasCrystals!

Nancy is very into crystal healing,bohemian style and all things that inspire you.

I wanted to know how she got started selling on Etsy:

I’ve been making jewelry since 2005, and was selling on Ebay at the time. For numerous reasons, I decided to move my business, and that’s when I found Etsy.  I opened a jewelry supplies and bead shop, Eponajewels, in 2009. At the time, I was selling my handmade jewelry in that shop, but decided it would be better to separate them. That’s when Epona’s Crystal Adornments was born.

E

I was curious why crystals:

I’ve had a love affair with stones since I was a child. I still have boxes of rocks I collected then, and I’m still adding to it! I also believe in the ability of stones to heal the mind and body. I carry crystals with me all the time.

I then wondered what drew her to the bohemian style and way:

I like jewelry of all kinds, but have always loved the native style turquoise and silver. Most of my early creations were in that style. After seeing all the beautiful creations available here on Etsy, my style has moved towards the eclectic and bohemian style. I like working will all kinds of mediums and the boho style seems to blend well with that. Besides, I was a 70’s hippie chick!

E2

How does she market her works:

I have tried a lot of venues, but right now I use Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook, and Wanelo. And of course, word of mouth helps a lot. Etsy teams are a huge asset in marketing your creations as well.

After learning all this,where does she come up with these ideas:

My biggest inspirations are Native American spirituality and crystal healing. I usually find the stones first, then create the pieces around them. I don’t usually plan out a design. I just start working with the stones and the design sort of evolves from there. Sometimes it becomes something totally different from what I first envisioned, but usually it is much better! Making jewelry is like therapy for me. It gives me an outlet for my creative juices!

E3

I and many others can relate to our craft being therapy. It also seems to be a healing of sorts.

I say check out the “vibrations” in her shop and pick up a piece to brighten up your day!

4 thoughts on “Treasury Challenge Winner December – EponasCrystals

Leave a Reply

