Treasury Challenge Winner October – EyeGloArts

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The ChristmasInJuly team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The winner of the  October challenge was none other then Lorraine of EyeGloArts, lover of things that glow in the dark!

She has a great sense of humor, seems to be up for anything and definitely someone to check out!

I asked her when and why she decided to open an etsy shop and she replied:

I opened my shop in May of 2013 while looking for a new career after getting my diagnosis of Fibromyalgia and RSD/CRPS after a long career as a conservation picture framer, floral designer and gallery manager.

EGA1

Because of her sassy style and temperament I asked what her style is:

I would say my style is avant-garde as I like to take traditional techniques such as gold leaf and millefiore canes and adapt them for use in my glow in the dark creations. I like to have my works look “normal” in the daytime and give the viewer a surprise when the lights go out.

EG2

I then wondered how much more could she do with her art and she said:

Craft wise I don’t think I have reached my greatest achievement thus far as far as my glowing jewelry goes as I have a lifetime of ideas I want to produce. It has been a pleasure and an honor to protect, beautify and preserve the artwork of others and have my clients range from the child wanting a present for its mother to the President needing some treasure prepared to give to other leaders of the world.

I know we all have creative blocks from time to time,and asked what does she do in such a case:

Gosh, when I have a creative block I either feed the birds, watch Dr. Who or both. Of course I also do those things when I don’t so I guess it doesn’t happen much.

EG3

Lastly I wondered what her must have tools are:

A good solid acrylic rolling pin and a piece of plexiglass is a must have for me!

Be sure to go check out all Lorraine’s glowing wonders…

Leave a Reply

