Treasury challenges show ones creativity!

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shopping gallery comprised of 16 items from any shop. Most of the time they are done by theme, color, or anything you can imagine!

The  CIJ Team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick one winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The winner of both September challenges was Betty Travell of the shop LadySnooks. She has always been a creative type, trying many medias before she found jewelry and especially wire wrapping.

LadySnooks1

I got to know quite a bit more about Betty and wanted to let you all know about the creative genius I discovered. When I asked her when her art and craft love started she replied:

For as long as  I can remember, I have always done art or crafts in some form. In fact, my entire family has been art-oriented, from my parents on down. There is something inside of some of us that makes us love and need to create in some way. Some call it right-brained, but it is there.

I then wondered how her etsy shop came about:

Initially, I opened my shop on Etsy in May 2008. It sounded like a good idea. I only had a few items in my shop when I started. I thought, like a lot of people, I’d have a ton of sales right away and all I needed to do was make my jewelry and put it in the shop. When sales didn’t come, I got discouraged and let my shop items expire. It sat empty until about October 2010 when I decided to give it another try. This time I had some good advice from a successful friend. She said “read the etsy handbook”. I did. It truly helps. And, this time I’m doing better, and I enjoy the entire etsy community. I love being on teams and doing the treasuries. Etsy is very helpful and gives good advice. I’ve made friends. All in all, it’s been a fun experience.

She does what she does,because of an innate drive to create and:

A good deal of my inspiration comes from nature. This is obvious with the Tagua nut scenes in resin I do based on the sea and nature, and I love to throw some fantasy in the mix too. With wrapping stones, sometimes a stone will lay on my work bench for weeks. I’ll look at it and move on to something else. It is there because of something special about it I really loved. Then I may be eating dinner, or it may be in the middle of the night that I wake up, but I will know exactly what I want to do with it. I usually need to draw it immediately or some parts of it will fade.

LadySnooks2

I wondered if she had a craft room and if so what were her essential must haves:

My work room has grown considerably over the years. It was an extra bedroom that I confiscated when we moved in. I settle back, put on some soft music, light a fragrant candle and slip into work mode. All of my important tools are here. My favorite one is the flex-shaft which is many tools in one, but some other favorites are my hand tools that my husband, a retired jeweler, gave to me from his supply. These are well worn-in and just feel comfortable and serve me well along with his good advice.

LadySnooks3

I hope she continues in her endeavor, because the world needs more people with her attitude and her crafty heart!

Leave a Reply

