Member Feature: Bella Vida Creations

Please join us in welcoming Bella Vida Creations, our featured member!

________________________

  • Tell us a bit about yourself

I have always been interested in jewelry as well as gems and minerals. You might say I’ve been a bit of an amateur rock hound most of my life. I live in Arizona, and find that we have some of the most beautiful turquoise in the world. We have the Sleeping Beauty mine in Globe/Miami which produces a pure sky blue turquoise and the Bisbee Copper Queen Mine brings us a blue/green turquoise with a black and rust brown matrix. So beautiful! Then, throw in the copper, silver, and other minerals from those mines (azurite, malachite, lapis, chysocholla) and the amethyst mine in Four Peaks, and wow! You have the beginning of some stunning jewelry!

IMG_9242IMG_9578

  • When did you open your business and what made you decide to do so?

I opened the most recent manifestation of Bella Vida Creations the summer of 2012. I have sold jewelry and other gifts off and on, but this is my first online venture. Bella Vida means “this beautiful life”, and I wanted to create and share beautiful jewelry with a connection to nature with others. I want to remind myself and others that this life is really beautiful despite whatever struggles we might have.

  • Tell us a bit about the products you have available.

Bella Vida jewelry is all handmade by me. I am a one woman shop! My jewelry will range from less expensive mixed metals, to aluminium (raw and colored), copper, silver plated, and sterling silver. You will find a range of beads from glass, lampwork, and crystals, to pearls, semiprecious, and precious gemstones. Some of my jewelry has minimalist or artsy wire wrapping, some are simple pendants, and others are beautiful strands of beads.

IMG_9602
My newest line is my southwest gemstone line that features turquoise, copper, sterling silver, and other gemstones that relate to Arizona and the desert colors. I am really appreciating how the colors complement one another in the desert and the striking sunsets. I want to share that will others who may either love the desert or have an interest in the desert southwest.

  • How would you describe your style?

I’ve been thinking about how to describe my style. With a smile, I would say it is “sophisticated hippie!” Yes, I just made that up! Sophisticated hippie is for the women who love nature and natural materials, but who also want jewelry to wear to work or on a formal occasion.

.
IMG_1585 crop

  • What are your future goals for the business this year and in the coming years? What is your dream?

My dream is that someday I will have my own workshop space (void of sharing it with toys and other household items!) and be able to run my shop full-time. I have some lovely artsy ladies in my life that continue to give me support and encouragement. They also challenge and inspire me which helps me grow as an artist. I am so appreciative of them.

  • Where can people find out more about you and your business?

If you are in Arizona, you can find some of my jewelry in the Tempe Center for the Arts Gift Shop. I will be adding bead and wire Christmas ornaments soon as well as more of the Arizona southwest gemstone line.

On the web, you can visit my Etsy store: www.etsy.com/shop/2012BellaVida
Facebook page: facebook.com/BellaVidaCreationsJewelry
Picsity: http://picsity.com/bellavida
Coast to Coast Crafts where I describe more of my process:  http://www.coasttocoastcrafts.com/results.php?page=288&bellavida&Bella-Vida-Creations-Handmade-Jewelry#main

Some fun questions!

  • What is your dream vacation?
    I think my dream vacation right now, would be to visit the Northern Lights (yes, I know that little desert dweller like myself will freeze) and to take a jewelry making cruise. They actually exist!

.
________
If you would like to be featured, please contact admin Natalie at natalie@whenshuttersclick.com. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

