Member Feature: Jules Mounteney Glass

Please join us in welcoming Jules Mounteney Glass, our featured member and one of our team admins!

________________________

  • Tell us a bit about yourself

I’m Jules, I live in the heart of Nottinghamshire (Robin Hood Country) in the UK with my husband and young daughter and our pet budgie, Gizmo.

JulesGlass

  • When did you open your business and what made you decide to do so?

I like to live my life by a quote an old school teacher of mine gave to me on my last day at school:

‘Aim for the moon, if you miss you’ll be amongst the stars’

With this quote never far from the front of my mind I recently decided that after a couple of years being a full time mum it was time for me to take stock of my life and think about a new direction.

I’ve made jewellery for over 12 years now, and have been a lampwork artist for over 5 years and it’s been a hobby I’ve truly loved. This made it the obvious choice for being the basis of my new life so I made up some beads and in June I opened my Etsy shop.

I’m still a full time mum, I use the time during the day whilst my daughter is having a nap to make my beads and jewellery and spend my evenings listing my items and doing any admin and marketing that is required.

I find that running my business in this way gives me the best of all worlds, I get to spend lots of time with my daughter and see her grow and develop every day. I feel like I’m more useful to the family now I’m working again but at the same time I don’t feel stuck in a rut or the boring 9-5 life that I’d grown to hate in years gone by.

  • Tell us a bit about the products you have available.

I love to let my creativity run free, this mean I have a diverse range of styles in my store, from elegant sets of beads, to eco friendly items made from recycled glass bottles, to fun animal designs. As my business grows I see more and more of my inner child coming through in my designs giving my shop a funky, whimsical edge that perhaps some of my competition doesn’t have.

Picture10

Take my brand new range of jewellery for instance, cute robots made into pendants, bracelets and earrings. Each one is unique and comes in a beautiful, handstamped gift box and has it’s very own Certificate of Creation.

I also love to create pieces that customers really want, I welcome commissions and always try to oblige wherever possible if a customer wants ‘this style of bead but in that colour.’ I also ship my items worldwide and can ship the item gift wrapped to an address of the customer choice if it is a gift item.

  • What inspires your work and new products?

I take inspiration from many places, inspiration is the food for creativity in my opinion. Too many people don’t make the most of the inspiration that is all around them every single day.

I used to be one of those people. Rushing around all the time never looking anywhere except where I was walking, totally focused on being busy. Now I make time to be inspired.

Try this, next time you’re in town instead of scurrying from one shop to another and rushing home again take 10 minutes and walk around looking at the tops of the buildings and shop roofs,  most of you will be amazed at the buildings that have been right above your heads for as long as you can remember but have never noticed!

  • Tell us a bit about your workspace.

My workspace is my little garden studio, I love spending time in there, it’s only small, 8ft by 6ft but it has windows overlooking the garden and down to the house, it’s insulated, ventilated and has a lovely bright light so I can work whatever the weather.

I’ve got  all my glass and tools to hand, I’m especially fond of Norman, my oxygen concentrator. He came with a name tag and everything! He gently hums whilst he works to make the flame nice and hot so I can melt the glass and never complains when he’s busy all day. If I could change one thing about my studio I’d make it bigger, I’d have an upgraded torch and get a second oxycon to keep Norman company!

  • Where can people find out more about you and your business?

Firstly you can visit my Etsy store, you can purchase my products, order a customer item or convo me if you have any questions: http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/JulesMounteneyGlass

Then there is Facebook, I regularly post photos of my work, work in progress, details of offers and events and generally lots of news and stuff about me and my work: https://www.facebook.com/julesmounteneyglass

Some fun questions!

  • What is your dream vacation? I’d love to return to New Zealand one day, I trained as a snowboard instructor there when I was younger.
  • What was the last movie you saw in theatres? Despicable Me 2
  • Favourite Ice Cream? Ben & Jerry’s (I used to live down the road from Ben & Jerry’s in Vermont years ago!)
  • Coke or Pepsi? Coke
  • Rock, paper, scissors or spock? Spock
  • Urban or suburban? Suburban to not too far away from city life!

________
If you would like to be featured, please contact admin Natalie at natalie@whenshuttersclick.com. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Jules Mounteney Glass

Leave a Reply

